Tonight I made Chicken Gumbo

Ok! Since I consider everyone who reads my blog like family! I will share my recipe for Chicken Gumbo with you!

I love this Gumbo my Dad loved this Gumbo and this is just the second time since he passed that I have made this Gumbo recipe. Because it just hurt too much.

Papa’s Chicken and Okra Gumbo

1/2 c veg oil
1/2 stick butter
1c of all purpose flour
4-8 celery stalks chopped
2 bell peppers chopped
1 med onion chopped
4(14oz) cans low sodium chicken broth
1/4c Worcestershire sauce
1tbl tobasco (or more)
5 bay leaves
1/4c fresh parsley
1tsp black pepper
1 1/2 tsp red pepper

6leg quarters separated leg from thigh (leave the skin on)
a sprinkle of Gumbo File on the top of the pot
1 package frozen sliced okra thawed

Combine oil butter and flour in a heavy bottom pan cook over med heat approx 20 min stirring constantly until roux is the color of chocolate
Add onion celery bell pepper and garlic cook for 10min stir occasionally Add the remaining spice ingredients. stir to combine then lay in the chicken bring to a simmer cook until chicken almost done add in okra

Serve over rice

Leave a Reply

