Atole Recipe to Try. It’s Getting Cold, Warm Drinks on Brain!

Atole

Ingredients:

* 1/3 cup masa harina blended with 1/4 cup warm water in blender
* 3 cups water
* 5 tablespoons brown sugar or piloncillo
* 1 pinch of salt
* 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon or 1 cinnamon stick
* 2 teaspoons vanilla or one one vanilla bean
* 1/2 cup pureed fruit (optional)(topping)

Preparation:
Heat all ingredients (except for any toppings you may be using) in a medium saucepan over medium-low heat while stirring. Bring to a simmer and continue to stir frequently for 20-25 minutes until thickened. If used, remove the cinnamon stick and/or vanilla bean. Pour into mugs or thick glasses. Warm fruit puree in a small saucepan and drizzle on top of Atole. Serves 2-3

This can also be made with chocolate. So I am thinking of melting some dark into it. YUMMMMM! Will let you know how it turns out. I am sure I had this as a kid, my grandmother was very old school. I will let you know when I taste it. Taste buds are tied to memories.

One thought on “Atole Recipe to Try. It’s Getting Cold, Warm Drinks on Brain!

  1. mshanane says:

    I tried this…YUM!!! and I wouldn’t use the blender if I were you. a good whisk of the warm water and masa are good enough I think.. I went a little heavy on the cinnamon but the kids like it too. I melted a Hershey bar in it. GOOD Stuff.

Leave a Reply

