My Daughter’s Getting Engaged

Ok. I eluded to a surprise in my last post. This is IT!!!! I am thrilled beyond imagination and she is over the moon!!!!!

The official engagement ceremony will be on the 31st of January. (OHHHHH I just remembered something we have all the Valentines stuff out at work you following my train of thought…..just encase decorations at a work discount YIPPEE)
Anyway it will be a small ceremony at home with about 12 people and family.

Since this is my oldest child and it is all new to me,,,,I do not know what to expect. I have not been through one before or even attended one.

None of my Nieces or Nephews on my husbands side have gotten married yet. Sahara who is not the oldest of the grandchildren on that side will be be the first!

I know it will be some sort of religious thing. I will keep you informed as I learn.

I have discovered that you are always learning even when they are 20 years old with the first child…every new step is a new step and new waters to navigate.

I know in Morocco back in the old days and still in some of the villages, the potential groom would bring a bull to the family of the future bride. As a way of showing he was able to support the future bride.

I think it would be hilarious if he came walking down the street with BEVO (UT FANS , which I am not will get this reference…if you are not a UT fan, BEVO is the mascot for UT and a TEXAS LONGHORN BULL)

But can you imagine a longhorn being led by a Moroccan led down a street in a suburb of Dallas. LOL (not to mention it would be coming to the home of true blood Sooners HAHA) Steak for dinner!!!!

Well that is our happy news.

9 thoughts on “My Daughter’s Getting Engaged

  1. Annise says:

    CONGRATULATIONS to all of you. Happy Engagement and wedding planning!

  2. Miss Knotty says:

    Best wishes to the happy couple, and enjoy being a Mother of the Bride!! Big fun!

    I’d go vegetarian before I’d eat Bevo!! The horror!! (Hook ’em, Horns!!)

  3. nanc says:

    Congrats! That’s great and I’m so happy for Sahara!

  4. twinsetellen says:

    It would create quite an incident if Bevo were to become steak. I hope your future SIL finds a more diplomatic way to mark the occasion!

  5. Sandy Harrington says:

    Hanane, that is wonderful news. I am so happy for Sahara. Tell her I said congratulations! My daughter got engaged about six months ago, so we are planning a wedding also.

  6. Fay says:

    Congratulations! They still have ppl with cows during the procession. I saw it this past summer even in Rabat!

  7. tikkunknitter says:

    Congratulations, Hanane! What a wonderful landmark in the life cycle of your family. Leslie

  8. a says:

    Congrats on all of the great news!!!!!!! How very exciting. How did the party go? do you have pictures?
    Miss ya,
    a

  9. Becky says:

    Wow – congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

