Why Poo Poo other peoples Happiness and Fun!?

Ok, I started a thread on one of my tatting groups on Yahoo (Katie i am beginning to think you’re right about groups) about hand-dyed thread. I am by no means a professional, and I don’t claim to be one. Nor do I play one on TV.

I have had success with my Easter egg dye. LOL it is safe, the kids had a great time. We watched it fizz up and make this neat marble texture on the thread. They didn’t have to wear masks and I didn’t have to be worried that I had harmed their lungs in the process. They enjoyed setting them out in the sun. IT WAS FUN! Good old fashion family fun!

So having posted that I had had success with my Easter Egg dye with T-shirts, tights and cotton yarn. I got some responses from the “professionals” saying that I was doing it WRONG that I had to use dye x and process z to create hand-dyed thread. And there was a whole blog post(on blogger) about my Willy Nilly behavior and the consequence that could arise from such. (It’s thread people)

Well let me tell you, I have hand-dyed thread and I didn’t use dye x or process z. My kids had a blast, and if it fades a little or bleeds a little. SO WHAT!!!! It is mine, I did it I am proud of it and who are you to say I was going about it in a “Willy Nilly” fashion. Believe me I do not plan on ever becoming your competition because that is not where my talent is. I know that.

We had a day of fun stirring up dye adding vinegar and watching it fizz. And we got colored string in the process. SO THERE! I even tatted up a bit of trim 4 rings and chains and gave it a little scrub a dub in my hand with laundry soap to see what would happen. Nothing to be too concerned about. (and that was with A LOT of scrubbing)

I don’t know too many people who put their bookmarks or books in a puddle of water. (if they do they should have their heads examined)
I didn’t dye up enough to make a pair of baby booties so no fear of the little angels feet changing color. (Not that I would tat a pair of baby booties with size 10 Cotton) I may go with something a little more elegant than that. After all they would be heirlooms.

So get off your high horses and leave the “Willy Nilly” people to their fun!!!!!

11 thoughts on “Why Poo Poo other peoples Happiness and Fun!?

  1. QoE says:

    Just want to say that there are a lot of crazy people in the world and we just can’t let them rain on our parades. Some of those crazies are even in our own families! Oh, my! But I just keeping grabbing my joy where I can find it! Go for it!!

  2. shellssells says:

    I’ve decided, for the most part, that sticking with very small groups at Ravelry works for me. I guess if I find people I enjoy, and feel safe around, somehow expressing my enjoyment and excitement over things is a little more acceptable.

    I am really sorry this happened to you, so unnecessary!

  3. EmJayDee says:

    I agree with the previous comments! So glad that you and your kids had a great day. It sounds wonderful. Wish I could have been there to witness it in person. Keep grabbing your joy (as QoE says) and do keep nurturing that fun and creative spirit in your beautiful children. They are the gift our world needs to achieve deep and lasting peace.

  4. Raven says:

    People are just unbelievable. Please don’t let them get to you too much. You are having fun creating something unique and wonderful. Not to mention, you are creating memories that your children can carry with them for the rest of their lives. That’s what’s really important. Be strong in yourself, and remember that every culture has it’s jerks.

    No matter where you travel or what you do, eventually you are going to run into a jerk or two. But their lives are already miserable, don’t let them make yours that way too.

    Sending love your way.

  5. Annie says:

    I’ve used Koolaid, easter egg dye, food dye, AND professional dye whenever I’ve dyed yarn or roving. Easter egg dye is fun. And cheap!

    The “consequences” of your willy nilly actions?!? WTF? Easter egg dyed thread will not kill people. Some people concern themselves with the lives and doings of others a bit too much!

  6. monkeemaven says:

    Multicolored fingers are fun. I didn’t know you tatted! Are you going to be on campus at UTD in the fall?

  7. Denise says:

    Having seen this thread in person (I’m lucky to share some tatting time w/Hanane), all I can say is WOW! They are absolutely beautiful, and I am looking forward to see what is created from those lovely skeins.

    Don’t let the fun suckers bring you down!

  8. emmy says:

    I haven’t tried easter egg dye but I sure have had some fun with Kool-aid, Don’t let them get you down.
    I’ve been known to be willy-nilly myself and it’s great fun!!

  9. Donna says:

    Thanks for saying what I’m always thinking in situations like this…just leave me alone and let me have my fun! If I wanted their opinion I would have asked specifically for it. Thanks again.

  10. Susan says:

    Oh, try talking to them about dying with Kool-Aid! LOL! I plan to dye some buttons with Easter Egg Dye, and I know a carver who uses it to color her barettes, after carving the ostrich shells. Nothing else sticks to them!

    Poo on people who forget that if you aren’t having fun, you don’t have anything.

  11. britt says:

    I have noticed more and more judgement flying around the “fiber intertnets” lately and i think it is sad. Guess what? I think that is awesome, you had a good time, your kids had a good time so even if you ended up with white string in the end it still would ahve been fine. Even better you have string that is still usable and you have more than just string so this seems a roaring success!

Leave a Reply

