Twined Knitting/Tvåändsstickning

Well I learned a new technique and a very old technique at that this weekend. With the help of believe it or not Skype. A Lady onRavelry her name is Mairi, she helped me to figure out how to go about it all.
A Scottish Girl living in Canada helping a Muslim/Okie girl living in Texas to figure out something that was invented in Sweden all via the internet. Wow Modern technology. (yep I stole this line from Mairi)
You can read more on the history of Twined Knitting aka Tvåändsstickning at Knitting Kninja. Apparently there are some great books on the subject which I have added to my wish list on Paperback swap and Amazon. Here is a picture of what I have been working on. It is basically a NOTHING a knitted sampler if you will. Twined Knitting sampler

I plan to cast on for a pair of mittens, which I am sure will get tons of use here in TEXAS LOL. Perhaps someone who lives up north will be gifted. I just think the single color mittens look so classically elegant. Ok I will confess it was these mittens I LURVE them!!!! they are what got me smitten with the whole process. Nothing else those beautiful mittens. I want a pair DANG IT!!!!!

3 thoughts on “Twined Knitting/Tvåändsstickning

  1. tikkunknitter says:

    I’m sure they will be divine, Hanane! May you twine away to your heart’s content ….
    Leslie

  2. Dee says:

    I can see why you want them! They are beautiful!

  3. Sewicked says:

    Well, why not skip the mitten part & make handwarmers? Those are the fingerless gloves that keep your fingers free but your hands warm. If you use lightweight yarn, they might even be suitable for Texas. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

